Natural Products Metabolomics Lab @ Sookmyung Women's University

Current Members

Our lab is recruiting passionate students and postdocs who are interested in natural product chemistry.

If you are interested, please contact PI through email:

Principal Investigator 

Kyo Bin Kang, Ph.D.

Kyo Bin earned his BS in Pharmacy from Seoul National University (2010), and then earned his MS (2012) and PhD (2016) in Pharmacognosy from Seoul National University, under advising of the late Prof. Sang Hyun Sung. After PhD, he stayed in the same lab as a postdoctoral researcher and worked on several LC-MS-based plant metabolomics projects. In March 2018, he joined Pieter Dorrestein's lab as a postdoc in University of California, San Diego, performing a collaborative research with William Gerwick's lab in Scripps Institute of Oceanography to develop new methodology for bioactive natural product discovery based on modern analytical platforms, especially tandem mass spectrometry, NMR spectroscopy, and genome-mining.  

He started his lab at College of Pharmacy, Sookmyung Women's University in September 2018.

Graduate Students

Huong T. Pham 

Ph.D. course (Sep 2021 - present)

Master (Sep 2019 - Aug 2021) *outstanding thesis award

Houng is trying to reveal how fungal co-cultivation alters the biosynthesis of fungal specialized metabolites.

Eunah Jeong

Ph.D. course (Mar 2022 - present)

Master (Mar 2020 - Feb 2022) *outstanding thesis award

Eunah is working on the chemical and molecular mechanism, and ecological meaning of fungal biotransformation of phytochemicals.

Kyungha Lee

Ph.D. course (Mar 2023 - present)

Master (Mar 2021 - Feb 2023)

Kyungha is applying MS/MS-based untargeted metabolomics strategy to reveal the chemical diversity of monoterpene indole alkaloids, which are highly bioactive phytochemicals.

Yukyung Choi

Ph.D. course (Mar 2023 - present)

Yukyung is investigating how fungi living in marine environments utilize halogens in their specialized metabolites.

Hyemin Yoo

Master course (Mar 2023 - present)

Yeji Kim

Master course (Mar 2024 - present)

Jiwoo Jeon

Master course (Mar 2024 - present)

Visiting Students

Tamonpan Suyasa

School of Pharmacy, Walailak University, Chanthaburi, Thailand (May 2024 - present)